Activity Stream
48,167 MEMBERS
6333 ONLINE
besthostingforums On YouTube Subscribe to our Newsletter besthostingforums On Twitter besthostingforums On Facebook besthostingforums On facebook groups

Probation

Default Understanding MX Records - I need help

First. I'm totally new here.
    Second. I'm fairly new to web-mastering.
    Third. Found this great link here:
    http://www.besthostingforums.com/13-...x-records.html

I am the lucky recipient of the job of moving our webhosting from one company to another and I'm trying to figure out some things in regards to our email. I'm hoping someone can explain some things.

I think I get the a-record thing but a bit confused on MX records. Nobody knows how our email is set up since the IT guy left. Also, nobody knows where our domain was registered. I did an MX records lookup online and it shows the following:

What does TTL (7200) stand for?
    Why does it say the first server at frontbridge.com is invalid?

I realize the lower preference number means that mail will try to be routed to that server first, but if it's invalid, then do we even need it listed? I looked frontbridge.com and it says here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Microso...osted_Services that it's a MS Exchange Hosted Service thing. Does that mean our email server is in-house vs. where-ever our current webhosting is at? Can someone help explain this to me?

A WHOIS on our domain turns up this:

NS99.WORLDNIC.COM 205.178.190.50
    NS100.WORLDNIC.COM 206.188.198.50

So that means our current domains are registered at Network Solutions, which means we must have a login at Network Solutions? Sorry if these questions sound dumb.

What is the best DNS and MX tool out there for looking this stuff up? Some of them seem more detailed than others. Thanks in advance for any advice or direction pointing you can provide.