Activity Stream
48,167 MEMBERS
62583 ONLINE
besthostingforums On YouTube Subscribe to our Newsletter besthostingforums On Twitter besthostingforums On Facebook besthostingforums On facebook groups

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default Website shutdown because of 40% CPU load

My website was hosted by a free host for 2 months without complaints, then I moved to a new paid host, and it got shutdown after some hours because it created a 40% load on their Xenon 8 core CPUs?!

Though they say they will take a look at it too see if they can correct anything that is brutally wrong in the scripts, I thought that I wanted to help too (it is my site duh).

I'm not a PHP expert, I'm learning and coding a lot though every week.
    My website is very db heavy I think, it is basically a front-end UI for listing the stuff in the DB and allowing the user to interact with it.

I don't have that much stats on it, but I know that I had ~300 daily visits every day when it got shutdown, and probably a lot more outer calls to the API I wrote.

So I am not sure what caused that load since I am inexperienced with web coding. I do have a shoutbox accessible on all of the few pages, which makes a query to the db every 3 seconds to check for new messages when the site is open. But still, I've seen lots and lots of sites with shoutboxes so I doubt that is the problem.

Since the load is so damn big compared to the average user (which they say is 1-2%) I thought that maybe someone here have a clue about the problem even though I don't provide the source code of the page.

So yeah, if anyone feels like throwing out a clue idea, please do!
    I really feel I have abandoned my users since the website is down